How Do You Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada

00 Min
Read Time
How do you get a medical marijuana card

How do you get a medical marijuana card

Nevada is leading the country with some of the most progressive laws when it comes to legalizing marijuana. This includes both recreational and medical marijuana use.

If you are suffering from a chronic illness or pain medical marijuana could be a solution. You can’t simply go to a dispensary and walk out with marijuana though.

So how do you get a medical marijuana card? We are here to help walk you through the process so you comply with the latest laws and regulations.

Why Get a Card When Marijuana Is Legal?

You may wonder why you should bother going through the process and getting a medical marijuana card if it is legal for those over the age of 21. However, cardholders get a lot more benefits than just access to medical marijuana.

As a cardholder, you are exempt for the 10% sales tax that recreational users have to pay.

You can also have in your possession up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. As a recreational user, you can only buy and possess up to 1 ounce.

Cardholders can also grow their own plants. This is to assist those who are too sick to leave home or do not have a way of traveling to a dispensary. As a recreational user, you can only grow your own if the nearest dispensary is more than 25 miles away from you.

A medical marijuana card also helps those who are under the age of 21. The minimum recreation age is 21, while those as young as 10 can get a medical marijuana card.

How Do You Get a Medical Marijuana Card

The basic process for getting a medical marijuana card in Nevada involves three steps. First, request an application from the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program (NMMP). You can also download the form online.

Then visit a licensed Doctor of Medicine or osteopathy. The NMMP doesn’t provide a list of doctors, you will need to find one on your own. Finally, submit your application to the NMMP for approval.

Qualifying Conditions

You have to have a qualifying medical condition to get approved for a card. Then a doctor must recommend that the marijuana will help relieve your suffering from that condition.

For a complete list of the conditions that qualify you can reference the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 453A, Section 050. These are some of the more common conditions:

  • Glaucoma
  • Seizures (including epilepsy)
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Cancer
  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
  • Severe pain
  • Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis)

If you have a unique case that you think should qualify but is not listed you can file a special petition. The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (NDPBH) will need to approve these special cases.

Age Limits

You must be at least 10 years old to get approval for a medical marijuana card. If you are a minor, then a parent or guardian will have to sign off on approval of the card. This form is called a “Minor Release”.

What to Submit with Your Application

Along with your application, you also need to submit a $25 application fee. You’ll need to make a copy of the front and back of your driver’s license and state ID. If you are going to have a caretaker, you also need to include a copy of their driver’s license.

The Doctor You Need to See

Any Doctor of Medicine can give a recommendation for a card. You may even find that there are some doctors that specialize in recommendations.

Doctors cannot specifically prescribe you marijuana though. This is because medical marijuana is still illegal according to federal law.

How Long It Takes

Assuming that you have completed your application correctly, it should take about 10 days for approval after submission. You know that you have approval when you receive a Letter of Approval.

This is not your card, but you can use it to buy medical marijuana for up to 60 days. You should get your official card in about 2 weeks after getting your letter.

Nevada Medical Marijuana Program

This is a state registry that lists all cardholders. Dispensaries will reference this list when card holders come in to make a purchase.

What the Card Gets You

Once you have your card, you are authorized to buy 2.5 ounces every two weeks. You might also be able to use your card to buy medical marijuana in another state.

You will need to check each state’s regulations before trying to buy. Some states like Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Maine, Michigan, Delaware, and Arizona only let you use in their states, not buy.

The Protections

Once you are in possession of your card you’ll have protection from getting prosecuted for possession of marijuana and its paraphernalia. It also protects people who are not cardholders that are in your vicinity while you use medical marijuana.

What the Looks Like

Your card will look a lot like your state driver’s license. The card will have your picture and a hologram on it. Don’t try to buy or make a fake card, that’s a felony.

Get a Medical Marijuana Card

While you may be tempted to just use marijuana recreationally, there are many benefits to getting the card. So, how do you get a medical marijuana card quickly?

If you have a qualifying condition, make an appointment with a doctor to get a recommendation. Then file your application.

Once you have your card, you are protected from any state repercussions. You can buy more, grow, and possess more than recreational users.

Once you have your medical marijuana card contact us to get started with treatment.

Table of Contents